So yesterday we covered just over 32km in around 4 and a half hours. It was horrific! We started out well and full of optimism. We ran, albeit slowly, pretty much all the way to our half way point. It was less than a half marathon to there and so we have run further before and were doing well. We stopped for a snack and then turned for home. We were still a long way off when both of us started to fall apart. For me the ache started in my lower legs and slowly spread upwards, eventually reaching my back. I was more tired than I can ever recall feeling in the past and although we had kept up running with brief walk intervals, by the time we reached Barton bridge we were done with running and had a long and slow trudge home. We ate, drank and showered etc and headed to bed before late for what felt like the longest night ever! I was ridiculously tired but just being in contact with the mattress seemed to hurt. I tossed and turned all night, and when I did briefly nod off I found myself back on the canal bank trying desperately to trudge on. Today it has really started to sink in how tough this is going to be. We've said all along that we knew it would be tough but until now I had no idea exactly how it would feel. The distance we covered is a fraction of the total distance we need to, and right now I have no idea how we will ever make it..
you can se the stats for our session at the link below:
Untitled by DavidCBurgess at Garmin Connect - Details
Sunday, 6 July 2014
Saturday, 5 July 2014
Friday, 4 July 2014
50 to Cowes: Tomorrow....
... is a big day. Tomorrow we plan to start the main part of our training for IOW. We have, of course, been training already. We haven't been idle, but at first our focus was hell run (half marathon distance on trails), then we switched to 'Abersoch 10k mode' (faster, shorter road race) and since then we have just been ticking over. with just 50 days to go now, we really need to be upping the distance, by a LONG way! So tomorrow is the appointed start date, with a 4 hour-ish trek on the radar. At this point I have mixed feelings... not quite sure what to think! Here goes... I guess....
Thursday, 3 July 2014
51 to Cowes: urban run through Manchester's water ways (a post by Dave)
A lot of our runs recently have been along the bridge water canal through Stretford, Sale and Altrincham. It's great running along the canal, it's away from traffic and there is something calming about the water. I have also been riding the canal tow path. So far I have followed it up to Wigan and hope to follow it further, up to Chorley, in the near future. I'm also keen to show Rachel the paths I have discovered.
This week, I took another new route. The Bridgewater canal turns north just after Stretford to pass the home of Manchester United and then on into the city centre. But before it does it travels alongside the Manchester ship Canal. And it is here that I have been exploring, just up from the Pomona tram stop there is a patch of wasteland that has been left alone. There is a reasonably modern feel to the architecture, but a very dilapidated look as moss, weeds and bushes have started take over the path. Man hole covers are missing, presumably stolen for their metallic value and there are patches dug up with all sorts of cables and wires uncovered. What I loved about it the most was that it seemed to be a spot right in the middle of Manchester that most people wouldn't even know existed. So I invited Rachel, who is a photographer, to join me and we took some photos of these overgrown paths along the way. We are now keen to come back with a proper camera to document some of these forgotten places in Manchester and also keen to go back and explore more of the old paths through the city that are gradually being forgotten as the pull of seemingly more interesting things like shops distract us from these little gems.
Wednesday, 2 July 2014
52 to Cowes: What 9 Looks Like
Today we are 9. Nine whole years since we became 'we'. On one hand I'm aware I could turn this into something totally depressing. Firstly because this means we'll be getting old soon- whatever you term to be old, we are nine years closer to it, nine whole years, but secondly because 9 doesn't look at all like either of us imagined. I was always convinced we'd have a six year old by now (or there abouts) with one or two younger siblings. This time each year is interesting. Its a natural time of reflection, you can't help but look back and assess how far you've come, or not come. I believe it is no coincidence that it was on our 7th anniversary, after the tears brought on by that reflection, I finally decided enough was enough and picked up the phone to call my GP. On the whole, despite this, its been a good 9 years. We've done lots, seen lots, and definitely changed and grown lots and in the picture above we certainly seem happy enough. I'm aware my perspective is starting to change. I am learning not to regret the years of struggle both before and after that phone call to the GP two years ago. I am learning that regretting something I truly have pretty much no control over is a waste of time and emotion (if I regret anything now, it is not taking that trip, but then how were we to know that 3 rounds of Clomid wouldn't be our golden ticket to parenthood). In reality, what is a story without a struggle? Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying I'm ok with any of this, that it doesn't still hurt, or that I don't wish we were done with it already. But imagine Snow white without the poisoned apple, Red Riding Hood without the wolf, or Hansel and Gretel without the Witch in her gingerbread house? I guess I'm coming to a place of acceptance that we all have story and we don't get to choose what happens, but something will, and without it where would we be. A life of ease sounds great, like a fairytale maybe? but thats not so... every fairytale has its ogre/ witch / demon or whatever. Maybe its our scars that make us beautiful. Our story goes on, I guess thats what I should be grateful for.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
